City Council

Council 2019

Hamilton’s first municipal elections were held at the Town Hall in 1795 when Daniel Tucker was elected as the first Mayor, along with three Aldermen and five Common Councillors. Today, the Alderman term is no longer in use and the Mayor is supported by eight Common Councillors. On Thursday, May 9, 2019, the current nine members of the Board, including the Mayor were elected to serve the City for a 3-year term until 2022.  They are paid a nominal stipend for their service. The Board is responsible for the administration of the City and hold their monthly Board meetings on the first Wednesday of every month. Each member sits on several (but not all) sub-committees - Finance; Staff, Legislation and Governance; Infrastructure; Residents - all which meet once a month and make recommendations to the Board for approval.

Polling Day was May 9th, 2019

Mayor Charles Gosling was uncontested and will serve as Mayor of Hamilton for another 3-year term.

Mayor Charles GoslingMayor Charles R. Gosling, JP

Four nominees for Residential Councillors put their names forward and were 
uncontested and will serve a 3-year term.

Five nominees for Business Councillors put their names forward

The four current Business Councillors retained their seats and Michael Branco was offered, and accepted, a seat at the City's Infrastructure Committee as an Associate Member.

Click HERE to read about the current Council members.